Dibbits Excavating presents Fan Appreciation Saturday

Print Friendly

BRIGHTON – Every fan’s favourite night of the year is this Saturday at Brighton Speedway as Dibbits Excavating presents Fan Appreciation night. Fans will have the chance to take to the track at intermission and talk to their favourite driver while grabbing an autograph.

May31 DibbitsExcavating FanAppeciationIn addition to regular draws at the track, fans will also have the chance to win one of three pairs of Bolle or Columbia sunglasses.

If getting on the track on two feet isn’t close enough, fans will have the opportunity to take their four wheels to the dirt in the Larry’s Towing 1-on-1 spectator races, commonly known as King-of-the-Hill.

A full night of racing will accompany the fan festivities and the OilGARD Anti-Rust Canadian Modifieds will headline the night with round one of the RONA Triple Crown. The extra-distance race will see the open-wheel warriors battle for 30 laps.  Dale Locke (No.13 Allore Haulage) and Adam Whaley (No.12 John’s Equipment) have each taken a checkered flag this year. They’ll see heavy competition from Doug O’Blenis (No.32 John’s Car Care), Dan Ferguson (No.11 Kilmarnock Enterprise), and Andrew Hennessy (No.87 Custom Automotive), who have all led at some point in the two races. Whaley enters the race as the points leader.

The Vanderlaan Building Supplies Pro Late Models offer a 30-lap feature of their own. The Saturday night A-Main should prove eventful as many drivers look to find victory lane. Charlie Sandercock (No.57 Bellevue Fabricating), Phil Potts (No.29 Vanderlaan), and Steve Baldwin (No.5 cigarchief.com) each look to be the first repeat winner of the year. David MacDonald (No.97 MacDonald Homes), Adam Turner (No.92 Village Variety) and Matt Vanderlinden (No.09 Integra Racing Shocks) have all been strong and are looking to find victory lane for the first time this year. Sandercock’s trio of top-fives have him at the top of the division standings.

The Brighton Automotive Pro Stocks continue to look for a way to solve points leader Doug Anderson (No.72 Hunt’s Bobcat Service). The four-time reigning champion has won the last two feature events after Justin Ramsay (No.03 Empey Tire) won the May 10opener. Leslie Mowat (No.2 Cormer’s Auto Recycling) has been in contention along with Wade Purchase (No.55 C&L Upholstery) and Devon Kippen (No.43 Take Mike for Granite). Each challenger will look to become the third different winner this season.

Last week’s Bill’s Johns Comp 4 feature was the odd ball so far as Terry Hough (No.32 The Vinyl Solution) dominated the main even